Sunday, December 21, 2008

Northwestern Bulls denied three-peat

ORLANDO -- Miami Northwestern had a place in history within its grasp after one quarter Saturday night.
Over the next three quarters, Seminole High ripped it away.
The Bulls watched a 21-0 lead slip away, as did their bid to win three consecutive state titles, in a 28-21 defeat in the Class 6A championship game in front of 12,764 fans at the Citrus Bowl.
Despite tight coverage by Northwestern safety Tevin McCaskill, Seminole wide receiver Andre DeBose grabbed a 40-yard touchdown pass from quarterback Ray Ray Armstrong with 33 seconds remaining to cap the Seminoles' comeback.
Northwestern moved the ball as far as its own 45-yard line on its final possession, but the Seminoles ended any hopes of a miraculous comeback when defensive end Dyron Dye sacked quarterback Wayne Times on the game's final play.
The loss ended Northwestern's hopes of becoming Miami-Dade County's first team to win three state championships in a row since the playoff format was adopted in 1963.

No comments: